Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Fisheries Research and Development Corporation Board appointments.

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon. Tony Burke MP

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Fisheries Research and Development Corporation Board appointments

15 September 2009 DAFF09/320B

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Tony Burke today announced the new directors of the new Fisheries Research and Development Corporation (FRDC) board.

The new board includes two returning and five new directors, appointed for a three year term ending on 31 August 2012.

The FRDC board directs investments in research and development to boost productivity right along the production chain in Australia’s commercial, recreational and Indigenous fisheries.

Mr Burke thanked retiring directors Dr Ray Johnson, Dr Paul McShane, Frank Prokop and Richard N. Stephens.

“The seafood industry injects more than $2.2 billion into the Australian economy each year and underpins thousands of jobs,” Mr Burke said.

“I look forward to working with the new board as it guides the research and extension to support a sustainable and innovative fishing industry in Australia.”

The five new FRDC directors are:

Heather Brayford—Ms Brayford has extensive experience in fisheries and aquatic resource management, including her most recent role as Executive Director of Fisheries in the Northern Territory and senior roles with the Department of Fisheries in Western Australia. These roles have included various fisheries management and policy responsibilities in commercial fisheries, recreational fisheries, pearling and aquaculture and fish habitat protection. Ms Brayford will shortly return to WA Fisheries to take up the position of Director Aquatic Management.

Renata Brooks—Executive Director, Science, Innovation & Performance, Primary Industries in Industry & Investment NSW. Her responsibilities include providing strategic science to enhance the growth, sustainability and biosecurity of NSW primary industries. Ms Brooks was previously a Deputy Director-General in the former NSW Department of Primary Industries. Ms Brooks chairs the boards of the NSW Agricultural Genomics Centre and the Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit and is a member of the Primary Industries Innovation Centre board.

Brett McCallum—Chief Executive Officer of the Pearl Producers Association. He has held a number of senior roles in the fishing industry and has been involved in a number of government advisory committees. Previous roles include Chief Executive Officer of the Western Australian Fishing Industry Council and National Aquaculture Council director. He chairs the Pearling Legislation Review Working Group, is a board member of the Kimberley Natural Resource Management Group and a member of the Commonwealth Animal Aquatic Health Committee.

Dr Daryl McPhee—Principal Environmental Scientist with WorleyParsons and Director of McPhee Research Consultants. Dr McPhee has worked on behalf of industry and government on projects involving all sectors of the fishing industry. This has included industry development and technology

transfer and the development and implementation of environmental management systems. He has published numerous papers and reports on topics related to fisheries and marine ecology and fisheries economics and is the author of the textbook Fisheries Management in Australia.

Professor Keith Sainsbury—Professor of Marine System Science, University of Tasmania and a director of SainSolutions Pty Ltd. Professor Sainsbury is Vice-Chair, Marine Stewardship Council, Science Advisor for the CSIRO Wealth from Oceans Flagship, and a commissioner of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority Commission. Professor Sainsbury is a laureate of the prestigious Japan Prize for Science for his work in understanding shelf ecosystems and their sustainable utilisation (2004).

The two returning directors are:

Stuart Richey AM—Managing Director, Richey Fishing Company Pty Ltd. Mr Richey has held a number of senior positions in the fishing industry on behalf of industry and government. He chairs the Northern Prawn Management Advisory Committee and was a founding director of the Tasmanian Fishing Industry Council, a director for a number of years of the South East Trawl Fishing Industry Association, and a previous deputy chair of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority. He was the previous FRDC board deputy chair.

Richard A. Stevens OAM—is a fisheries management and government relations adviser. Mr Stevens is also a commissioner of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority Commission and a director of the Queensland Rural Adjustment Authority. He chairs the Southern Bluefin Tuna Research Council and a number of fishery management advisory committees. Previous roles include NSW Fisheries Resource Conservation Advisory Council chair and member of the Council of the Australian Maritime College, Tasmania.