Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
$11.3 million boost for local councils in Murray

Download PDFDownload PDF

THE HON DR SHARMAN STONE MP Federal Member for Murray

Tuesday 26 th May 2015

$11.3 Million Boost for Local Councils in Murray

Local governments in Murray Electorate will benefit from the delivery of the latest quarterly funding under the Australian Government’s four-year $9.3 billion Financial Assistance Grants program.

Federal Member for Murray Dr Sharman Stone said $11,345,809 is being provided to local governments in Murray under this latest funding.

“Local governments in Murray play a pivotal role in binding communities together and producing local solutions to local problems. Councils are the closest level of government who look after rubbish, roads, pre-schools, libraries, town lighting, parking and ensuring new businesses are attracted to stay. It is important we can provide funds for crucial local projects.

“This funding supports local governments to deliver local priorities with the services, facilities and infrastructure communities need most,” Sharman Stone said.

The fourth quarterly grants payment will deliver $575 million towards priority local projects across Australia. Councils in Murray electorate will receive the following Financial Assistance Grants funding:

City of Greater Shepparton $2,882,801 Loddon Shire Council $1,940,562

Moira Shire Council $2,436,292

Campaspe Shire Council $2,836,812

Strathbogie Shire Council $1,249,342

For further information on Financial Assistance Grants you can visit,” Sharman Stone said.

Media contact: Callum Whitehead 0437 096 982