Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Nominations for Australian of the Year 2009

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP Shadow Minister for Environment, Heritage and the Arts Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs Federal Member for Murray

Tuesday, 5 August 2008

Media Enquiries: Robert Hardie 02 6277 4477 / 0418 432 909

Nominations for Australian of the Year 2009

Nominations for the four categories of the Australian of the Year Awards are now open, Federal Member for Murray Dr Sharman Stone said.

“The Australian of the Year award is open to all Australians who deserve recognition for their extraordinary achievements and contributions to their community and the nation. This is one of Australia’s highest honours.

“There is also the Senior Australian of the Year Award, recognising Australians 60 years and over who continue to contribute to the community. At the other end of the scale is the Young Australian of the Year Award which recognises the contribution of those aged 16-30 years to Australia.

“The fourth category is Australia’s Local Hero. This is to recognise those whose contribution enriches the lives of others around them.

“I encourage residents in the Murray electorate to consider nominating a person who they believe deserves recognition for their significant achievements or community contribution,” Dr Stone said.

“The Awards are based on nominations made by the public. Nominations close on Sunday 31 August 2008.

“The National Award winners will be announced on 25 January 2008 on the lawns of Parliament House, Canberra. State and Territory winners will be announced later this year.

“You can nominate a great Australian online now at or call 1300 655 193 for more information. Printed nomination forms are available from my office at 426 Wyndham Street Shepparton,” Dr Stone said.