Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
NBN Co launches medical device register

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP

Minister for Communications

NBN Co Launches Medical Device Register

21 March 2014

The NBN Co has today launched a medical alarm register, to help with the migration of all customers ahead of the disconnection of the Telstra network in 15 sites nationally on May 23.

If you have a medical alert or alarm in an area where the NBN is active - or know of a family member or friend with these services - you can list an alarm on the register by calling 1800 227 300 or completing the online form at

Registering your name will allow the NBN Co provide appropriate assistance and identify at-risk customers ahead of the disconnection of the legacy copper network.

If the National Broadband Network (NBN) has been switched on in your area, migrating over to the network is a simple process - customers should contact their current internet or phone company or visit for more information.

Before migrating to the NBN, alarm users should check with their alarm provider for advice on what services over the NBN will work best with their alarm.

Although existing alarms will most commonly use the NBN’s analogue (UNI-V) port, consumers will need to make their own enquiries and discuss individual needs with their internet or phone provider when selecting a service.

The NBN Co will also be providing additional information for consumers as part of an ongoing communication campaign, including community information services, direct mail and advertising in local media.

Media Contact: David Bold 0423 202 369

The following sites are where the legacy copper network will be disconnected on May 23:

Town Fibre Serving Area Module Premises

Armidale 2ARM-01 2255

Armidale 2ARM-02 1972

Armidale 2ARM-03 375

Armidale 2ARM-04 2479

Kiama 2KIA-01 2379

Brunswick 3BRU-01 2840

Town Fibre Serving Area Module Premises

South Morang 3SMR-03 2201

Townsville 4GUL-01 2886

Willunga/Aldinga 5ALD-01 1062

George Town 7GEW-01 2283

Kingston Beach 7KIN-01 1028

Deloraine 7DEL-01 1377

Sorell 7SOR-01 1314

St Helens 7STH-01 2062

Triabunna 7TRA-01 467

Total 26,980