Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Adam Gilchrist to chair the National Australia Day Council.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release

29/2008 9 September 2008

Mr Adam Gilchrist has been appointed chair of the National Australia Day Council.

Mr Gilchrist will bring enormous energy and commitment to the work of the Council and I am delighted that he has agreed to take on this important leadership role for our national day.

Adam Gilchrist is acknowledged for his outstanding contribution to Australian cricket. He has demonstrated great drive and leadership throughout his professional career whilst maintaining a high standard of integrity.

His passion for Australia and his motivational leadership will be invaluable as the National Australia Day Council continues to build Australia Day and the Australian of the Year Awards in the coming years.

Deputy Chair, Ms Shelley Reys, and board members Dr Bruce Walker, Mr Fergus Ryan and Mr Duncan Lewis have been reappointed. Continuing board members include Mr Ian Elliot and Mr Andrew Metcalfe.

I congratulate Mr Gilchrist on his appointment and I look forward to a successful program of activities to celebrate Australia Day 2009.

Additional information

Shelley Reys (since 2004). Shelley is an Aboriginal woman of the Djiribul people. She is Managing Director of Arrilla - Indigenous Consultants and Services, a private firm which provides services and products that assist Indigenous Australians and the wider community to work more effectively together. She is also on the board of Reconciliation Australia.

Ian Elliot (since 2002). Ian was CEO and Chairman of Australia’s biggest advertising agency, George Patterson. He is Chairman of Allied Brands and Artist & Entertainment Group, and a Director of Hills Industries and Salmat.

Andrew Metcalfe (since 2002). Andrew is the Secretary of the Department of Immigration and Citizenship. He is also a member of the Administrative Review Council (since 2003).

Bruce Walker (since 2006). Bruce is CEO of the Centre for Appropriate Technology Inc, the

Adam Gilchrist to Chair the National Australia Day Council

Media Contact: Website:

Media Adviser - Colin Campbell - 0407 787 181

Page 1 of 2 Media Release 29/2008 - Adam Gilchrist to Chair the National Australia Day Council


national Indigenous science and technology organisation. He was awarded the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Clunies Ross National Science and Technology Medal in 1999. He was awarded a Centenary Medal for service to remote area education and health in 2003.

Fergus Ryan (since 2006). Fergus was Arthur Andersen’s Managing Partner Australasia before his retirement in 1999. He was appointed a Director of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia in 2000.

Duncan Lewis (since 2006). Duncan is a Deputy Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Last Updated: 9 September, 2008

Page 2 of 2 Media Release 29/2008 - Adam Gilchrist to Chair the National Australia Day Council