Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Statement from Minister Ronaldson: Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters

Download PDFDownload PDF

Wednesday, 23 October 2013 MINSMOS001


As is customary practice, I will be providing a reference to the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters to inquire into the conduct of the 2013 federal election. To date this Committee has not been constituted.

This will be a general reference which enables the Committee to enquire into all matters relating to the 2013 federal election.

Members of the community are entitled and encouraged to make a submission to the Committee. It is also customary for political parties and Independents to make a submission.

Historically, the major political parties have provided detailed submissions to the Committee and I assume the Mr. Brian Loughnane, Federal Director of the Liberal Party of Australia and Mr. George Wright, National Secretary of the Australian Labor Party will formally partake in this process. Similarly, I would also expect that the Australian Greens, the Palmer United Party and Independents will make submissions to the Committee.

There is always the opportunity for me, as the responsible Minister, to make an additional reference to the Committee in relation to specific matters. I do not anticipate that this will be required in relation to the conduct of the 2013 federal election, given the wide ranging general reference made to the Committee.

Media inquiries: Brad Rowswell (02) 6277 7820 or 0417 917 796