Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Additional ABC and SBS digital television services

Download PDFDownload PDF

Campaign Media Release

Minister for Regional Communications Sharon Bird


An additional 95 locations across Australia will receive the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) and Special Broadcasting Service (SBS) digital television services for the first time, thanks to the Rudd Labor Government.

Areas to receive the new services include southern parts of the Sunshine Coast (QLD) and towns such as Kyogle (NSW), Corryong (VIC), Binalong Bay (TAS), Lameroo (SA), Mingenew (WA) and Jabiru (NT).

The Rudd Labor Government is committed to ensuring that all Australians - wherever they live - have access to the full range of digital free-to-air television channels.

This includes areas where new services are being provided for the first time, as well as areas where the ABC and SBS are replacing community-run self-help services with services operated as part of the national broadcasters’ networks, greatly improving the reliability of these services.

Wherever there are three commercial digital television services, the ABC and SBS will also be present, right down to transmission areas of around 500 people - a great result for people living in regional Australia.

The new services are anticipated to be operational in the near future, as the national broadcasters finalise contractual arrangements for these service extensions.

For those transmission areas with less than 500 people, the Federal Labor Government is also investing $375.4 million over 12 years to provide digital free-to-air television services from the Viewer Access Satellite Television (VAST) service.

Equalisation of television broadcast services between the cities and the regions is a great Federal Labor achievement and funding for this is included in the Budget.

The list of the Additional ABC and SBS Digital Television Services is available below.

28 AUGUST 2013

Communications Unit: T 03 8625 5111

Authorised by G. Wright, Australian Labor, 5/9 Sydney Avenue, Barton, ACT, 2600

Additional ABC and SBS Digital Television Services New ABC/SBS digital television Services Transmission Area State Service

Augusta WA SBS

Bicheno TAS SBS

Binalong Bay TAS SBS

Bombala NSW SBS

Bonalbo NSW SBS

Bordertown SA SBS

Cann River VIC SBS

Casterton VIC SBS

Coffin Bay SA SBS

Cooma/ Monaro NSW SBS

Corryong VIC SBS


Halls Gap VIC SBS

Hopetoun (VIC) VIC SBS

Kalbarri WA SBS

Keith SA SBS

King Island TAS SBS

Kyogle NSW SBS

Lameroo SA SBS

Mallacoota VIC SBS


Mingenew WA SBS

Mitchell QLD SBS

Murgon QLD SBS

Nannup WA SBS

Nyngan NSW SBS

Orbost VIC SBS

Pinnaroo SA SBS

Rosebery TAS SBS

St Marys TAS SBS

Strahan TAS SBS

Swansea TAS SBS


Walcha NSW SBS

Walgett NSW SBS

Waratah TAS SBS

Wilcannia NSW SBS

Sunshine Coast South QLD ABC and SBS

Self-help services upgraded and run by the ABC and SBS Transmission Area State Service

Balranald NSW SBS

Barcaldine QLD SBS

Blackall QLD SBS

Bourke Town NSW SBS

Brewarrina NSW SBS

Bridgetown WA SBS

Burra SA SBS

Carnamah WA SBS

Cloncurry QLD SBS

Coober Pedy SA SBS

Cooktown QLD SBS

Cunnamulla QLD SBS

Dampier WA SBS


Fitzroy Crossing WA SBS

Halls Creek WA SBS

Hughenden QLD SBS

Jabiru NT SBS

Kambalda WA SBS

Kandos NSW SBS

Khancoban NSW SBS

Kojonup WA SBS

Kununurra East WA SBS

Lightning Ridge NSW SBS

Meekatharra WA SBS

Merredin WA SBS

Merriwa NSW SBS

Moora WA SBS

Morawa WA SBS

Mount Magnet WA SBS

Mullewa WA SBS

Murrurundi NSW SBS

Norseman WA SBS

Pannawonica WA SBS

Paraburdoo WA SBS

Pemberton WA SBS

Quorn SA SBS

Roebourne WA SBS

Southern Cross Town WA SBS

Springsure QLD SBS

St Helens TAS SBS

Tawonga South VIC SBS

Thursday Island QLD SBS

Walwa/ Jingellic NSW SBS


Winton QLD SBS

Wyndham WA SBS

Adelong NSW ABC and SBS

Batchelor NT ABC and SBS

Batlow NSW ABC and SBS

Bruce Rock WA ABC and SBS

Captains Flat NSW ABC and SBS

Cardwell QLD ABC and SBS

Glenden QLD ABC and SBS

Maydena TAS ABC and SBS

Talbingo NSW ABC and SBS

Tumbarumba NSW ABC and SBS