Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Greens plan to wind back surveillance overreach



Download PDFDownload PDF

Greens plan to wind back surveillance overreach Australian Greens spokesperson on Communications, Senator Scott Ludlam. 28 August 2013.

In light of the PRISM scandal, the Australian Greens will announce a package of protective measures to address ongoing surveillance overreach today in a trans-Tasman online forum.

“Edward Snowden has revealed that widespread, warrantless and illegal surveillance is occurring,”said Australian Greens communications spokesperson Senator Scott Ludlam.

“Initial government and corporation denial has since been exposed as lies, perjury and obfuscation while the surveillance simply continues.

“While these illegal activities remain unchallenged, citizens are treated as suspects and our human right to privacy and freedom of expression are trampled.

“While the old parties pretend nothing is happening, the world is in uproar about the US National Security Agency using the PRISM backdoor program to conduct warrantless surveillance through the servers of companies including Apple, Microsoft, Google and Facebook.”

“The Australian Greens will announce five protective measures to bring intelligence agencies, IT providers and governments within the ambit of the rule of law,” Senator Ludlam concluded.

The Online Forum with Senator Scott Ludlam and New Zealand Greens MP Gareth Hughes will be held at 10am WST, 12 noon EST and 2pm NZST - https://www.greens.org.nz/greenhangout

Contact: Giovanni Torre - 0417 174 302