Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Key aviation safety appointments

Download PDFDownload PDF

Key Aviation Safety Appointments Media Release AA115/2012 31 May 2012

Federal Transport Minister, Anthony Albanese, today announced re-appointments for the Civil Aviation Safety Authority Board and the Australian Transport Safety Bureau.

Dr Allan Hawke AC has been re-appointed Chair of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) Board and Mr Noel Hart has been re-appointed as a Commissioner of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB).

The re-appointments provide ongoing certainty for both CASA and the ATSB enabling both bodies to continue to perform their vital roles as the independent aviation safety regulator and national transport safety investigator respectively to the highest standard.

The three other founding members of the CASA Board, established in 2009, Mr David Gray, Mr Trevor Danos and Ms Helen Gillies have also agreed to serve further terms. The continuity of membership recognises the important leadership role the Board and the Commission have in Australia's aviation industry.

Dr Hawke's role as Chair of the Civil Aviation Safety Board is invaluable in providing strategic direction on key aviation safety matters to CASA. He has a wealth of public service, aviation and transport experience.

Mr Hart's extensive experience in safety matters, particularly with relation to the maritime and resource industries, ensures the Australian Transport Safety Bureau continues to maintain a good balance of transport safety and industry experience.

For further information on Civil Aviation Safety Authority's Board visit WCMS:STANDARD::pc=PC_93342

For further information on Australian Safety Transport Bureau Commission visit

Last Updated: 5 June, 2012

Page 1 of 1 Key Aviation Safety Appointments