Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
More support for Tasmanian bushfire victims

Download PDFDownload PDF




The Federal and Tasmanian Governments today announced further financial assistance for communities as they overcome the state’s worst fires in nearly half a century.

Additional support under Category B of the National Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements will be available in the Sorell, Tasman, Glamorgan Spring Bay, Central Highlands, Derwent Valley and Circular Head Local Government Areas.

This will include grants for counter-disaster operations and the restoration and replacement of essential public infrastructure.

Category C grants of up to $25,000 will be available to eligible small businesses, not-for-profit organisations and primary producers in the Sorell, Tasman and Glamorgan Spring Bay Local Government Areas.

We know there are far too many families in these areas who have had to leave their homes and businesses.

One of our priorities is to help businesses get back on their feet as these communities rebuild and recover from this tragedy. Not only have they suffered trading losses but the cost of cleaning up is substantial.

Category C grants will help primary producers with the clean-up, and cover debris removal, disposal of dead livestock and taking steps to ensure production and viability isn’t disrupted beyond the next season.

They will also help small businesses resume trading as soon as possible, including establishment costs in temporary premises.

This assistance may also be extended to other areas once the impact of the fires can be properly assessed.

Category C assistance does not compensate for income losses and is not intended to replace insurance.

With fires still burning across the state, everyone should ensure they take the appropriate precautions to stay safe and monitor information from local emergency service agencies.

Information on the range of assistance that is available can be found at or at


PRESS OFFICE (02) 6277 7744 PREMIER’S OFFICE (03) 6232 7065