Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Children's television director honoured

Download PDFDownload PDF

mt By: Media Monitors Australia; 123; 25-Sep-98 6:32PM; Rage 23/34

The Australian College of Education V V v Λ > A.C.N. Jam es D arling House

42 C eils C o u rt, D eakin, A.C.T. 2600 Telephone: (02)62*1 1677

P.O. Bo* 323

D eakin W est A.C.T. 2600 F acsim ile: (02) 6285 1262 Em ail: bpopc@ .au

MEDIA RELEASE To be issued Friday 20 September


The recipient of the 1998 Australian College of Education Medal is Dr Patricia Edgar, Director of the Australian Children’s Television Foundation.

The Medal, to be presented at a special ceremony to be held in Canberra on the evening o f Sunday 27 September, is being awarded to Dr Edgar in recognition of her outstanding contributions to education through the medium of television.

In announcing that D r Edgar was to be awarded the Medal the President of the Australian College of Education, Ms Susan Pascoe, said that the College had chosen to highlight the significant role that institutions other than traditional educational sites can play in the development of children's aesthetic sensibilities, imagination, and empathy.

Dr Edgar, through her pioneering work with the Australian Children’s Television Foundation, has played a privotal role in ensuring that high quality children’s programs are available. Dr Edgar has won national and international acclaim for her work in this field.

The Australian College of Education Medal is awarded annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to education. It is the highest honour the College can bestow.

The Australian College of Education is a national professional association of educators. The College was founded in May 1959 and aims to foster educational thought and practice and community recognition of excellence in educational practice.


The Australian College of Education has also announced the 1998 recipients of the award of Fellowship, conferred on those judged by their peers to be making a significant contribution to education. Fellowships are conferred on outstanding educators working in a range of settings, from classroom practitioners to educational researchers and administrators. This year the Australian College of Education will confer 26 Fellowships and one Honorary Fellowship. A full list is available.

Contact: Beverley Pope, Australian College of Education.