Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Inquiry into the conduct of the 1998 federal election and matters related thereto

Download PDFDownload PDF



CANBERRA ACT 2600 Tel: (02)6277 2374 Fax: (02)62774710 E-mail:

Inquiry into the Conduct of the 1998 Federal Election and matters related thereto

On 10 December 1998 the Special Minister of State, Senator the Hon. Chris Ellison, referred the following to the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters: ,

That the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters inquire into and report on all aspects o f the conduct of the 1998federal election and matters related thereto.

The terms of reference for an election inquiry are generally very broad, allowing the Committee to focus on those issues which are considered most pressing by the Committee and the respondents to the inquiry.

The members of the Committee are:

Mr Gary Nairn MP (Chair)

Mr Laurie Ferguson MP (Deputy Chair)

Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator Karen Synon

Senator the Hon. John Faulkner Mr Michael Danby MP Senator Ross Lightfoot Mr John Forrest MP

Senator Andrew Murray Hon. Alex Somlyay MP

Further information on the preparation of submissions can be obtained from the Committees web site at or by contacting the Committee secretariat on 02 6277 4586. Submissions can be made by e-mail to or can be directed to:

The Secretary Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 2375

Fax: 02 6277 4710