Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Inquiry into East Timor

Download PDFDownload PDF


. 11 August 1999


Senator John Hogg, the Chairman of the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade References Committee, announced today that the Committee will conduct a public hearing on its inquiry into East Timor on Friday, 13 August 1999 in Canberra. The hearings will be held in Senate Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House, Canberra.


9.00 am Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade Ms Gillian Bird, First Assistant Secretaiy, South and South East Asia Division Mr Chris Moraitis Mr Neil Mules Ms Carolyn Bull AusAID Ms Jennifer Rawson, First Assistant Secretary, Asia and Corporate Division Ms Ali Gillies Mr John Munro

11.15am Australian Council for Overseas Aid (ACFOA) Ms Janet Hunt Mr Pat Walsh

12.15 pm HE Zozimo Justo da Silva, Ambassador of Portugal

2.00 pm Australian Federal Police

Mr John McFarlane, Special Advisor to Deputy Commissioner, AFP and Fellow, Australian Defence Studies Centre, ADFA

Federal Agent Michael Keelty, APM, General Manager, National Operations, AFP

Federal Agent Bill Kirk, National Operations, AFP Headquarters Federal Agent Tim Dahlstrom, National Operations, AFP Headquarters

2.45 pm Professor James Cotton, Australian Defence Force Academy

Enquiries: Mr Paul Barsdell (Committee Secretary) ph (02) 6277 3535 fax (02) 6277 5818 e-mail