Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
40 School Chaplain Programs at risk in Murray

Download PDFDownload PDF

THE HON DR SHARMAN STONE MP Federal Member for Murray

Monday 25 June 2012

40 School Chaplain Programs at risk in Murray

Dr Sharman Stone, Federal Member for Murray says the Gillard Government must urgently address the problem of salaries and support for their school chaplains program.

The Minister for Schools Peter Garrett has promised that the Government will ensure the chaplaincy program continues after the High Court decision that said the program could not be funded by the Commonwealth.

“We now urgently need to know the details before people lose their jobs” Sharman Stone said. “School chaplains have been doing an excellent job in Murray Schools, where families have been under stress due to drought and flood.”

Dr Stone said “if the Government does not take quick action to save the programme as promised, the Coalition will investigate if a Private Members Bill can be introduced into the Parliament that could allow a version of this programme to be continued.”

Schools in Murray currently funded under the programme

School Name Suburb Sector Total

Sacred Heart Primary School Yarrawonga Catholic $45,000

St John's Primary School Euroa Catholic $60,000

St. Joseph’s Primary School Echuca Catholic $60,000

St Joseph's School Rochester Catholic $60,000

St Mary's School Inglewood Catholic $60,000

St Mary's School Mooroopna Catholic $60,000

St Patrick's School Pyramid Hill Catholic $60,000

Echuca Primary School Echuca Government $60,000

Echuca West Primary School Echuca Government $60,000

Euroa Primary School Euroa Government $60,000

Inglewood Primary School Inglewood Government $60,000

Numurkah Primary School Numurkah Government $60,000

Pyramid Hill College Pyramid Hill Government $60,000

Rushworth P-12 College Rushworth Government $60,000


School Name Suburb Sector Total

Shepparton East Primary School Shepparton East Government $60,000

Waaia Yalca South Primary School Waaia Government $15,000

Wedderburn College Senior Campus Wedderburn Government $60,000

St Brendan's School Shepparton Catholic $60,000

St Francis' School Nathalia Catholic $60,000

St Joseph's Primary School Nagambie Catholic $60,000

St Joseph's School Cobram Catholic $60,000

St Joseph's School Numurkah Catholic $60,000

St Luke's Catholic Primary School Shepparton Catholic $60,000

St Mary of the Angels School Nathalia Catholic $60,000

St Mary's Primary School Rushworth Catholic $60,000

St. Mary’s School Cohuna Catholic $60,000

St. Mary’s School Echuca West Catholic $60,000

St Mel's School Shepparton Catholic $60,000

St Patrick's Primary School Tongala Catholic $60,000

Bourchier Street Primary School Shepparton Shepparton Government $60,000

Cohuna Secondary College Cohuna Government $60,000

Echuca College College Drive Echuca Government $60,000

Echuca South Primary School Echuca Government $60,000

Gowrie Street Primary School Shepparton Shepparton Government $60,000

Kyabram P-12 College Kyabram Government $60,000

Nathalia Primary School Nathalia Government $60,000

Nathalia Secondary College Nathalia Government $60,000

Shepparton High School Shepparton Government $60,000

Tongala Primary School Tongala Government $60,000

River City Christian College Echuca Independent $60,000

Media enquiries, Graham Munson: 0417 148 110.