Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Meeting with leaders to prepare for Australian Council of Local Government.

Download PDFDownload PDF

MEDIA RELEASE The Hon Anthony Albanese MP Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government

24 October 2008 AA159/2008


This week, local government associations and I pledged to work in partnership as we prepare for the inaugural meeting of the Australian Council of Local Government (ACLG), scheduled to be held on November 18.

In a morning session at Parliament House on October 22, we exchanged ideas on the Rudd Government's plans and preparations for the historic meeting next month.

We also discussed the objectives, themes, program and structure for the ACLG meeting. These will be released shortly.

The fact that local government leaders from every state and territory attended this week's meeting showed their willingness to work together on strengthening the relationship between federal and local governments.

Local government is the tier of government that is closest to the community. That's why Prime Minister Kevin Rudd and I announced the establishment of the ACLG to provide a new nation building partnership between the Commonwealth and local government.

Mayors and Shire Presidents of local governments across Australia have been invited to this historic first meeting of the ACLG, which will also be held at Parliament House - and a majority have already accepted.

The meeting this week was attended by:

Local Government Associations (LGAs) President of the Australian Local Government Association & LGA of Queensland - Cr Paul Bell President of the LGA of New South Wales - Cr Genia McCaffery President of the Shires Association of New South Wales - Cr Bruce Miller President of the Municipal Association of Victoria - Cr Dick Gross President of Western Australian LGA - Cr Bill Mitchell Acting President LGA of South Australia - Mayor Kym McHugh President of the LGA of Tasmania - Mayor Mike Gaffney President LGA of Northern Territory - Alderman Kerry Moir

Council of Capital City Lord Mayors (CCCLM) Chairman of the CCCLM and Adelaide City Council - Lord Mayor Michael Harbison Brisbane City Council - Lord Mayor Campbell Newman

Local Government Managers Australia Deputy President - Mr Neil Hartley

Page 1 of 2..


Local Government Women's Association National President - Mrs Kaele Way JP

Media Contacts


Click to view larger image

Click to view larger image

Moksha Watts ( Mr Albanese's Office ) 0413 389 070

Page 2 of 2