Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Thursday, 17 September 1936

Senator COOPER (QUEENSLAND) asked the PostmasterGeneral, upon notice -

1.   How many A class broadcasting stations are there in Queensland?

2.   Where are these stations located?

3.   How many regional stations are there in Queensland?

4.   Where are these located?

5.   How many B class stations are in Queensland ?

6.   Where are these located?

7.   How many broadcasting stations are there of A class, regional, and B class, respectively, in (a) New South Wales, (b) Victoria, (c) South Australia, (d) Western Australia, (e) Tasmania?

Senator A J McLACHLAN (SOUTH AUSTRALIA) - The answers to the honorable senator's questions are as follows: -

1.   There are two national broadcasting stations (previously known as A class broadcasting stations) in Queensland, and a third is expected to be opened towards the end of the present year.

2.   The existing stations are Brisbane and Rockhampton, and the new stations at Townsville.

3.   See reply to 1.

4.   See reply to 2.

5.   Sixteen.

6.   Three in Brisbane; one each in Oakey, Ayr, Bundaberg, Cairns, Toowoomba, Ipswich, Lougreach, Maryborough, Mackay, Rockhampton, Townsville,Charleville and Warwick.


Suggest corrections