Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Wednesday, 23 June 1926

Senator PEARCE - The right honorable the Prime Minister supplies the following answer: - 1 and 2. Article 13 of the agreement between the Governments of Great Britain, Australia, and New Zealand, which was approved by

Parliament in the Nauru Island Agreement Act 1919, provides as follows: - " There shall be no interference by any of the three Governments with the direction, management, or control of the busiHess of working, shipping, or sellingthe phosphates, and each of the three Governments binds itself not to do, or to permit any act or thing contrary to or inconsistent with the terms and purposes of this agreement."

The interests of the partner Governments are safeguarded by Article 10 of the agreement, which provides: - " The commissioners shall not, except with the unanimous consent of the three commissioners, sell or supply any phosphates to, or for shipment to, any country or place other than the United Kingdom, Australia, or New Zealand."

Suggest corrections