Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 20 April 1966

Mr FAIRBAIRN - The River Murray Commission consists of representatives of the Governments of New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and the Commonwealth, but once water from the Murray leaves the river it is up to the State concerned how that water is used. I was interested when I visited the honorable member's electorate last year to see that the Victorian Government is carrying out tests on the use of concrete pipelining. I have watched this with great interest, but I stress that the constitutional authority for the use of the water in either New South Wales or Victoria is the State Government and not the Commonwealth Government.

Suggest corrections