Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 19 August 1920

Mr CUNNINGHAM - It is alleged that he is interested in a distributing business in Great Britain.

Dr EARLE PAGE (COWPER, NEW SOUTH WALES) - The names of the members of the Dairy Produce Pool Committee are household words throughout the dairying industry as leaders of co-operative effort among the producers. Here is the list of the members of the Committee -

Victoria.- .A. W. Wilson (Acting Chairman), Manager of Gippsland and Northern Cooperative Selling Company; C. C. Lewis, Manager,

Victorian Butter Factories Co-operative Company; J. Hankin, Director,Western District Factories Co-operative Company, a large dairy farmer;P. J.Holdensen, butter factory proprietor, and a large dairy farmer.

New South Wales- C. J. McRae, President of the Primary Producers Union of New South Wales; W. H. Clifford, General Manager of the North Coast Co-operative Factory Company, the largest butter concern south of the equator; P. C. Basehe, a large dairy farmer and export agent in Sydney; J. Mackey, Sydney merchant, with very large co-operative connexions.

Queensland. - W. Purcell, Chairman of Directors of the Downs Cheese Factories Association; T. F. Plunkett, representing the Beaudesert Co-operative Association; W. T. Harris, Toowoomba, Secretary Co-operative Factories, Queensland; A. C.Galbraith, General Manager of the Rural Industries (Queensland) Limited, controlling about 80 per cent. of the cheese output of Queensland.

Tasmania. - O.G. Norton, Chairman of Directors of the North-West Dairy Association of Tasmania.

South Australia. - J. W. Sandford, owner of the largest butter factory in South Australia, and a large merchant, representing a very big proportion of the producers of South Australia.

Commonwealth Government. - Mr. A. O'Callaghan, Commonwealth Dairy Expert.

Messrs. A. W. Wilson, C. J. McRae, and W. Purchell are Government nominees. The others were elected by each State at meetings of primary producers.

Mr Gabb - Do any of those gentlemen " pull the teat" ?

Suggest corrections