Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Full Day's HansardDownload Full Day's Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 17 July 1906

Mr EWING - The answer to the honorable member's question is as follows : -

The Ninth Australian Light Horse Regiment at present consists of two squadrons in the Ballarat district; and two troops each, forming two squadrons, at Elmore, Echuca, Kerang, and Pyramid Hill. The redistribution of the troops allotted to Elmore, Echuca, Kerang, and Pyramid Hill have been found necessary, owing to the unsatisfactory attendances at parade. On the recommendation of the Military Board, it has been decided to reorganize the regiment as follows : - One troop each at Elmore, Echuca, Kerang, and Pyramid Hill, which will constitute No. 4 squadron. One complete squadron at Bendigo, to be called No. 3 squadron. These two squadrons will have their head-quarters at, and be administered from, Bendigo. The question as to who will command will be decided when the squadrons have been reformed. The two squadrons (Nos. 1 and 2) in the Ballarat district will be independently administered from Ballarat. It is not at present proposed to appoint a Commanding Officer for the whole regiment.

Suggest corrections