Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Biography for WEST, the Hon. Stewart John

Member for Cunningham (NSW) 1977-93

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Cunningham, New South Wales, at by-election on 15.10.77, vice the Hon. R.F.X. Connor (deceased). Re-elected 1977, 1980, 1983, 1984, 1987 and 1990.

Retired prior to general elections 1993.

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Representative on the Council of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies from 22.5.80 to 19.9.80.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs from 11.3.83 to 13.12.84.

Minister for Housing and Construction from 13.12.84 to 24.7.87.

Minister for Administrative Services from 24.7.87 to 4.4.90.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal Affairs from 1.5.80 to 19.9.80; Environment and Conservation from 4.12.80 to 4.2.83.

Joint Standing: New Parliament House from 24.9.87 to 19.2.90.

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Member, Inter-government Consultation on Indo-China Refugees, Honolulu, August 1983.

Official visits to Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand, August 1983; USA, Mexico, El Salvador and Argentina, August 1984; New Zealand, April 1987; Japan, China, Hong Kong and Singapore, September 1988.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 19.3.80 to 11.3.83. Spokesman on Aboriginal Affairs from 19.3.80 to 23.11.80; on Environment and Conservation from 23.11.80 to 14.1.83 and on Finance and Trade from 14.1.83 to 11.3.83.

Party Positions

Secretary, ALP Cunningham Federal Electorate 1968-77.

Campaign manager for the late Hon. R.F.X. Connor 1966-75.


Born 31.3.34 at Forbes, NSW.

Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Waterside worker.

President, Waterside Workers' Federation, Port Kembla Branch 1972-77.


Description: Provincial.

Location: Wollongong and south coast of New South Wales; it includes the city of Wollongong and the surrounding centres of Austinmer, Bellambi, Bulli, Coledale, Corrimal, Fairy Meadow, Figtree, Gwynneville, Mt Keira, Mt Kembla, Mt Ousley, Russell Vale, Scarborough, Tarrawanna, Thirroul, Unanderra, Wombarra amd Woonona.

Area: 356 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 74 689 (at 15.2.93).

Industries: Coal mining, brick manufacturing, textiles, dairy farming and tourism.

State electorates: Cunningham includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Wollongong, and parts of Illawarra and Keira.