Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
O'DWYER, the Hon. Kelly MeganBiography for O'DWYER, the Hon. Kelly Megan

Member for Higgins (Vic)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Higgins, Victoria, at by-election 5.12.2009, vice the Hon. PH Costello (resigned). Re-elected 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer from 23.12.14 to 21.9.15.

Minister for Small Business from 21.9.15 to 19.7.16.

Assistant Treasurer from 21.9.15 to 19.7.16.

Minister for Revenue and Financial Services from 19.7.16.

Minister for Women from 20.12.17.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service from 20.12.17.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Employment and Workplace Relations from 10.2.10 to 19.7.10; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 10.2.10 to 19.7.10; Economics from 25.10.10 to 12.2.15 (Chair from 3.3.14 to 12.2.15).

Joint Select: Parliamentary Budget Office from 23.11.10 to 23.3.11.

Party Positions

Member, Administrative Committee, Liberal Party (Vic.) 2003.

Chairman, Liberal Party Training Programs (Vic.) 2003.

Member, Liberal Party Constitutional Committee (Vic.) 2007-09.

Other Positions

Co-founder and Chairman, Parliamentary Friendship Group of Women in Science, Maths and Engineering from 2012.

Chairman, Australia-United States Parliamentary Friendship Group from 2014.

Convener, Australia-Americas Network.


Born 31.3.1977, Box Hill, Vic.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA, LLB (Hons)(Melb).

Lawyer, Freehills 2001-04.

Adviser to the Federal Treasurer, the Hon. PH Costello, MP 2004-05; Senior Adviser 2005-07.

Executive, National Australia Bank 2007-09.


Description: inner metropolitan.

Location: south-eastern Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Armadale, Ashburton, Kooyong, Malvern, Malvern East, Prahran and Toorak, and parts of Carnegie, Glen Iris, Hughesdale, Murrumbeena, South Yarra and Windsor.

Area: 40 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 104 678 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: mainly residential, with retail and commercial interests in a number of suburbs.