Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Biography for LAVARCH, the Hon. Michael Hugh

Member for Fisher 1987-93; Member for Dickson (Qld) 1993-96

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Fisher, Queensland, 1987 and 1990.

Re-elected following 1992 electoral redistribution for Dickson, Queensland, 17.4.93. Defeated at general elections 1996.

Ministerial Appointments

Attorney-General from 27.4.93 to 11.3.96.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal Affairs from 16.5.90 to 4.5.92; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 4.5.92 to 8.2.93; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 16.5.90 (Chair from 16.5.90) to 8.2.93.

Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 16.2.88 to 19.2.90.

Joint Select: Certain Aspects of the Operation and Interpretation of the Family Law Act from 16.4.91 to 8.2.93.

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Member, 79th IPU Conference, Guatemala, April 1988.

Official visits to UK, France and Mauritius, November 1993; North America, July 1994; Switzerland, February 1995; Indonesia, October 1995.

Party Positions

Secretary, Pine Rivers Local Government Electorate Council 1983-85.

Delegate, ALP State Council (Qld) 1986, 1990.

ALP Branch President 1986-87.


Born 8.6.61 at Brisbane, Qld.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

LLB (Qld Institute of Technology).


Local Government Service

Councillor, Pine Rivers Shire Council 1982-87.


Description: Outer metropolitan.

Location: South-east Queensland, north of Brisbane; it includes the centres of Albany Creek, Arana Hills, Bray Park, Brendale, Bunya, Closeburn, Enoggera, Everton Park, Kallangur, Keperra, Lawnton, Mitchelton, Petrie and Strathpine.

Area: 436 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 82 158 (at 5.2.96).

Industries: Retail and light industry.

State electorates: Dickson includes the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorate of Ferny Grove, and parts of Ashgrove, Aspley, Everton, Kallangur and Kurwongbah.