Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
IRONS, Stephen (Steve) JamesBiography for IRONS, Stephen (Steve) James

Member for Swan (WA)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Swan, Western Australia, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 12.2.15 to 9.5.16 and from 30.8.16.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Communications from 11.3.08 to 4.6.09; Education and Training from 11.3.08 to 19.7.10; Publications from 11.3.08 to 5.8.13; Health and Ageing from 10.11.08 to 5.8.13; Health from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16 (Chair from 11.2.14 to 9.5.16); Procedure from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Tax and Revenue from 19.10.15 to 9.5.16; Procedure from 14.9.16.

Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; National Disability Insurance Scheme from 19.3.14 to 12.10.15; Corporations and Financial Services from 14.9.16 (Chair from 14.9.16); Public Accounts and Audit from 14.9.16 to10.8.17.

Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition of Local Government from 26.11.12 to 13.3.13; Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse from 5.2.18.

Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 12.2.15 to 9.5.16; Human Rights from 14.9.16.

Party Positions

Vice-President, Liberal Party Swan Division.

President, Liberal Party South Perth Branch.


Born 1.9.1958, Melbourne, Vic.

Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Company director.

Road operator.

Apprentice electrician.


Description: inner metropolitan.

Location: south-eastern Perth; it includes the suburbs of Ascot, Belmont, Burswood, Bentley, Cannington, Carlisle, Cloverdale, Como, East Cannington, East Victoria Park, Forrestfield (part), High Wycombe, Karawara, Kensington, Kewdale, Lathlain, Manning, Redcliffe, Rivervale, Perth Airport, Queens Park, Salter Point, South Guildford (part), South Perth, St James, Victoria Park, Waterford, Welshpool and Wilson.

Area: 134 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 97 268 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: education, tourism, recreation, light industry, commercial, retail and transport.