Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
CLARE, the Hon. Jason DeanBiography for CLARE, the Hon. Jason Dean

Member for Blaxland (NSW)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Blaxland, New South Wales, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary for Employment from 9.6.09 to 14.9.10.

Minister for Defence Materiel from 14.9.10 to 14.12.11 and from 5.3.12 to 4.2.13.

Minister for Home Affairs from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.

Minister for Justice from 14.12.11 to 18.9.13.

Cabinet Secretary from 4.2.13 to 1.7.13.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Education and Training from 19.2.08 to 15.6.09; Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government from 19.2.08 to 15.6.09.

Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 18.2.08 to 15.6.09; Intelligence and Security from 26.11.14 to 9.5.16.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 14.10.13. Shadow Minister for Communications from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Minister for Resources from 4.5.16 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Minister for Resources and Northern Australia from 23.07.16.

Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment from 23.07.16.

Party Positions

Member, ALP from 1991.

Secretary, ALP Cabramatta Branch 1992-2001.


Born 22.3.1972, Sydney, NSW.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA (Hons) & LLB (UNSW).

Policy Adviser to the Minister for Police and Leader of the House (NSW), the Hon. PFP Whelan, MLA 1995-99.

Senior Policy Adviser to the Premier of NSW, the Hon. RJ Carr, MLA 1999-2003.

Manager, Corporate Relations, Transurban 2003-07.


Description: inner metropolitan.

Location: south western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Bass Hill, Birrong, Carramar, Chester Hill, Condell Park, Fairfield East, Georges Hall, Guildford West, Old Guildford, Lansdowne, Potts Hill, Regents Park, Sefton, Villawood, Woodpark, Yagoona, Yennora, and parts of Auburn, Bankstown, Berala, Fairfield, Granville, Guildford, Merrylands, Smithfield and South Granville.

Area: 61 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 103 506 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: railway workshops, aircraft repairs, transport and storage industries.

State electorates: Blaxland includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Auburn, Bankstown, East Hills, Fairfield and Granville.