Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
NEUMANN, the Hon. Shayne KennethBiography for NEUMANN, the Hon. Shayne Kenneth

Member for Blair (Qld)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Blair, Queensland, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney-General from 25.3.13 to 18.9.13.

Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing from 25.3.13 to 18.9.13.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 19.2.08 to 19.7.10; Petitions from 19.2.08 to 17.6.09; Employment and Workplace Relations from 17.6.09 to 11.2.10; Health and Ageing from 11.2.10 to 19.7.10; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 25.10.10 to 14.5.13; Indigenous Affairs from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 25.10.10 to 14.5.13.

Joint Standing: Migration from 15.9.16.

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 18.2.08 to 19.7.10 and from 6.2.13 to 14.5.13.

Joint Select: Gambling Reform from 21.10.10 to 13.2.13; Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples from 4.12.13 to 25.6.15.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs and Shadow Minister for Ageing from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Minister for Northern Australia from 4.5.16 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 23.07.16.

Party Positions

Member, ALP from 1983.

President, ALP Raceview Flinders Branch from 1990.

President, Ipswich State Electoral Council 1995-2008; Campaign Director 1998-2007.

Delegate, ALP National Conference 2004-07.

Delegate, ALP State Conference (Qld) 2000-08.

Member, ALP State Rules Committee (Qld) 2002-08.

Member, ALP Administrative Committee 2005-08.


Born 26.8.1961, Ipswich, Qld.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA, LLB (Qld).

Lawyer 1985-2007.


Description: rural.

Location: south-east Queensland, west of Brisbane; it includes most of the city of Ipswich, and the towns of Kilcoy, Toogoolawah, Esk, Cominya, Lowood, Fernvale, Minden, Marburg, Rosewood, and Walloon.

Area: 6 409 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 98 368 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: dairy and beef cattle farming, small crop production, commercial, construction and infrastructure industries, tourism and defence.

State electorates: Blair includes the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorates of Ipswich, and parts of Bundamba, Ipswich West, Lockyer, Moggill and Nanango.