Save Search

Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
KELLY, the Hon. Dr Michael (Mike) Joseph, AMBiography for KELLY, the Hon. Dr Michael (Mike) Joseph, AM

Member for Eden-Monaro (NSW) 2007-13

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Eden-Monaro, New South Wales, 2007 and 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence from 3.12.07 to 6.2.08.

Parliamentary Secretary for Defence Support from 6.2.08 to 14.9.10.

Parliamentary Secretary for Water from 25.2.09 to 14.9.10.

Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 14.9.10 to 14.12.11.

Parliamentary Secretary for Defence from 14.12.11 to 4.2.13.

Minister for Defence Materiel from 4.2.13 to 18.9.13.

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Official visits to New Zealand, June-July 2008; Vietnam, August 2009; Ethiopia, March 2010; Israel, December 2010; France and Italy, June 2011; Samoa, June 2011; United Arab Emirates, March 2012; USA, June 2012.


Born 23.2.1960, Adelaide, SA.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA, LLB (Macq), PhD (UNSW).

Solicitor 1984-87.

Army officer 1987-2007 (see Military service below).


Appointed Member of the Order of Australia, June 1994.


Peace operations: tackling the military, legal and policy challenges, Canberra: Australian Government Publishing Service, 1997.

Restoring and maintaining order in complex peace operations: the search for a legal framework, The Hague: Kluwer Law International, 1999.

Military Service

Army officer 1987-2007.

Chief of General Staff Commendation Medal.

Australian Active Service Medal (three clasps: Somalia, Timor Leste, Iraq).

Australian Service Medal (Balkans).

United Nations Medal (Timor Leste).

Iraq Campaign Medal.

Australian Defence Medal.

Defence Long Service Medal.


Description: rural.

Location: New South Wales far south coast, the Snowy Mountains and tablelands; it includes the centres of Adaminaby, Batemans Bay, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Sutton and Tathra.

Area: 29 499 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 96 465 (at 21.8.10).

Industries: timber industries, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming, the Snowy Mountains hydroelectric scheme, snowfields and tourism.

State electorates: Eden-Monaro includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Bega, and parts of Monaro.