Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
ROBB, the Hon. Andrew John, AOBiography for ROBB, the Hon. Andrew John, AO

Member for Goldstein (Vic) 2004-16

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Goldstein, Victoria, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs from 27.1.06 to 30.1.07.

Minister for Vocational and Further Education from 30.1.07 to 3.12.07.

Minister for Trade and Investment from 18.9.13 to 18.2.16.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 1.12.04 to 28.2.06; Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 1.12.04 to 9.2.06; Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government from 10.11.08 to 3.2.10.

Joint Statutory: Intelligence and Security from 27.8.08 to 19.3.09.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 11.3.08 to 25.9.08; Electoral Matters from 3.2.10 to 19.7.10.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.07 to 18.9.13. Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and COAG and Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader on Emissions Trading Design from 22.9.08 to 8.12.09; Shadow Minister for Finance and Debt Reduction from 25.3.10 to 14.9.10; Shadow Minister for Finance, Deregulation and Debt Reduction from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.

Chairman, Coalition Policy Development Committee from 8.12.09 to 18.9.13.

Party Positions

Member, Liberal Party Queanbeyan Branch 1988-97.

Deputy Federal Director, Liberal Party 1988-89.

Federal Director, Liberal Party 1990-97.

Member, Liberal Party Cremorne Point Branch 1997-2002.

Member, Liberal Party Fundraising Committee (NSW) 1997-2004.

Honorary Finance Director (Party Treasurer), Liberal Party (NSW) 2001-04.

Member, Liberal Party Kirribilli Branch from 2002-04.

Member, Liberal Party State Executive (NSW) 2001-04.

Honorary Chair, Liberal Party Millennium Fundraising Forum (NSW) 2004.

Member, Liberal Party Brighton Branch from 2004.

Other Positions

Director, Menzies Research Centre 1997-2004.

Board Member, Garvan Medical Research Foundation 1998-2004.

Member, YWCA Leadership Group 1998-2004.

Chairman, Australian Direct Marketing Association 2001-04.

Member, National Board of 'Big Brothers Big Sisters' mentoring program 2002-04

Member of Advisory Council, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre (ANU) 2003-04.


Born 20.8.1951, Melbourne, Vic.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BEc (Hons)(La Trobe), Dip AgricSc (Dookie Agricultural College).

Animal health officer, Vic. Dept of Agriculture 1972-74.

Agricultural economist, Vic. Dept of Agriculture 1974-79.

Part-time tutor, La Trobe University 1976-79.

Economist, National Farmers' Federation 1980.

Executive Director, Cattle Council of Australia 1981-84.

Executive Director, National Farmers' Federation 1985-88.

Deputy Federal Director, Liberal Party 1988-89.

Chief of Staff to the Leader of the Opposition, the Hon. AS Peacock 1989-90.

Federal Director, Liberal Party 1990-97.

Consultant, Ammirati Puritas Lintas 1997.

Senior Executive, PBL 1997-99.

Board member, Sinclair Knight Merz 1998-2001.

Chief Executive Officer, Acxiom Australia 1999-2001.

Chairman, Acxiom Australia 2001-04.

Business adviser 2001-04.


Appointed Officer of the Order of Australia, January 2003.

Awarded Centenary Medal 2003.


Description: inner metropolitan.

Location: south eastern Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Beaumaris, Black Rock, Brighton East, Caulfield South, Hampton, Hampton East and Sandringham, and parts of Bentleigh, Cheltenham, Elsternwick, Glen Huntly, Highett and Ormond.

Area: 50 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 100 583 (at 7.9.13).

Industries: light industrial and commercial activities.

State electorates: Goldstein includes parts of the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorates of Bentleigh, Brighton, Caulfield and Sandringham.