Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
MORRISON, the Hon. Scott JohnBiography for MORRISON, the Hon. Scott John

Member for Cook (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Cook, New South Wales, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 18.9.13 to 23.12.14.

Minister for Social Services from 23.12.14 to 21.9.15.

Treasurer from 21.9.15.

Committee Service

Joint Select: Australia's Immigration Detention Network from 21.6.11 to 30.3.12.

House of Representatives Standing: Health and Ageing from 11.3.08 to 25.9.08; Family, Community, Housing and Youth from 25.9.08 to 30.11.09; Economics from 11.8.09 to 3.2.10.

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 11.3.08 to 25.9.08.

Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 11.3.08 to 3.2.10; Migration from 3.2.10 to 10.2.10.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 22.9.08 to 18.9.13. Shadow Minister for Housing and Development from 22.9.08 to 8.12.09; Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 8.12.09 to 18.9.13; Shadow Minister for Productivity and Population from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.

Party Positions

State Director, Liberal Party (NSW) 2000-04.


Born 13.5.1968, Sydney, NSW.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament


National Manager, Policy and Research Property Council of Australia 1989-95.

Deputy Chief Executive, Australian Tourism Task Force 1995-96.

General Manager, Tourism Council 1996-98.

Director, NZ Office of Tourism and Sport 1998-2000.

State Director, Liberal Party (NSW) 2000-04.

Managing Director, Tourism Australia 2004-06.

Principal, MSAS Pty Ltd 2006-07.


Description: inner metropolitan.

Location: south-eastern Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Monterey, Beverley Park, Blakehurst, Burraneer, Caringbah, Carss Park, Cronulla, Greenhills Beach, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kyle Bay, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point and Yowie Bay.

Area: 94 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 104 340 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: port and berthing facilities, boat building, steel fabrication, pharmaceutical plant, oyster farming, retail and service industries