Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
FITZGIBBON, the Hon. Joel AndrewBiography for FITZGIBBON, the Hon. Joel Andrew

Member for Hunter (NSW)

Australian Labor Party

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Hunter, New South Wales, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016. (The Division of Hunter was abolished as part of the 2016 redistribution however the Division of Charlton was renamed the Division of Hunter in the same year.)

Parliamentary Appointments

Trustee, Parliamentary Retiring Allowances Trust from 19.10.10.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Defence from 3.12.07 to 9.6.09.

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 1.7.13 to 18.9.13.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Primary Industries, Resources and Rural and Regional Affairs from 29.5.96 to 31.8.98; Industry and Resources from 21.10.02 to 31.8.04; Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 2.12.04 to 7.2.07; Economics from 15.6.09 to 19.7.10 and from 20.9.12 to 5.8.13; Employment and Workplace Relations from 11.2.10 to 19.7.10; Selection from 30.9.10 to 14.5.13 and from 4.12.13; House from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Appropriations and Administration from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Procedure from 25.10.10 to 14.5.13; Regional Australia from 9.5.12 to 6.2.13; Publications from 14.5.13 to 5.8.13; Agriculture and Industry from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Privileges and Members' Interests from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16 and from 10.10.16.

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts from 29.5.96 to 1.1.98; Public Accounts and Audit from 1.1.98 to 31.8.98.

Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 15.6.09 to 5.8.13.

Joint Select: Retailing Sector from 9.2.99 to 30.8.99.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Shadow Minister for Small Business and Tourism from 20.10.1998 to 25.11.2001.

Shadow Minister for Resources from 25.11.01 to 8.12.03; and Tourism from 2.7.03 to 8.12.03.

Shadow Minister for Mining, Energy and Forestry from 8.12.03 to 26.10.04.

Shadow Minister for Banking and Financial Services from 26.10.04 to 24.06.05.

Assistant Shadow Treasurer and Revenue from 26.10.04 to 24.06.05.

Shadow Minister for Small Business and Competition from 24.6.05 to 10.12.06

Shadow Minister for Defence from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07.

Chief Government Whip from 27.9.10 to 13.5.13.

Shadow Minister for Agriculture from 18.10.13 to 13.10.15.

Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs from 1.7.14 to 23.07.16.

Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 13.10.15.

Shadow Minister for Rural and Regional Australia from 23.07.16.

Party Positions

Delegate, NSW Young Labor 1985-86.

Senior Vice-President, ALP Cessnock Branch 1985-96.

Delegate, Cessnock State Electorate Council 1986-96.

Secretary, Hunter Federal Electorate Council 1990-96.

Delegate, ALP State Conference (NSW) from 1990.

Campaign Director, NSW State Elections 1991 and 1995.


Born 16.1.1962, Bellingen, NSW.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Graduate Certificate in Business Administration (Ncle).

Automotive electrician 1978-90.

Electorate officer to EJ Fitzgibbon, MP 1990-96.

Part-time TAFE lecturer.

Small business operator.

Local Government Service

Councillor, Cessnock City Council 1987-95; Deputy Mayor of Cessnock 1989-90.

Director, Hunter-Manning Tourist Authority 1987-89.

Delegate, Hunter Region Association of Councils 1994-95.


Description: Rural.

Location: central New South Wales, including the Muswellbrook Shire Council, Singleton Council, Cessnock City Council (part) and Lake Macquarie City Council (part). The main towns include Broke, Cessnock, Denman, Mulbring, Muswellbrook, Paxton, Putty, Singleton, Widden and Wyee.

Area: 10 640 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 113 417 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: agriculture, coal-mining, dairy farming, engineering, forestry, fruit and vegetables, horse studs and racing, timber milling, tourism, wine grapes and wineries and wool and the Liddell and Bayswater Power Stations.

State electorates: Hunter includes parts of the New South Wales Assembly electorates of Bathurst, Cessnock, Maitland and Upper Hunter.