Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
HULL, Kay ElizabethBiography for HULL, Kay Elizabeth

Member for Riverina (NSW) 1998-2010


Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Riverina, New South Wales, 1998, 2001, 2004 and 2007. Retired prior to general elections 2010.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 8.12.98 to 8.10.01; Publications from 8.12.98 to 8.10.01 and from 1.12.04 to 19.7.10; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 20.3.02 to 6.2.03; Family and Community Services from 20.3.02 (Chair from 21.3.02) to 31.8.04; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 1.12.04 to 17.10.07; Library from 1.12.04 to 7.12.05; Selection from 10.8.06 to 17.10.07; Petitions from 11.3.08 to 26.8.08; Communications from 26.8.08 to 19.7.10.

Joint Statutory: Native Title and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Land Fund from 6.2.03 to 31.8.04; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 8.5.07 to 17.10.07; Intelligence and Security from 3.12.08 to 19.7.10.

Conferences, Delegations and Visits

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Cambodia and Indonesia, April-May 2007.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to USA, Belgium and UK, September 2002.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Papua New Guinea, New Caledonia, New Zealand and Vanuatu, December 2004.

Leader, Parliamentary Delegation to 112th IPU Conference, the Philippines, and bilateral visit to the Solomon Islands, March-April 2005.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Switzerland and Singapore, October 2005.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to South Africa, April-May 2006.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Switzerland and Portugal, October 2006.

Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Bhutan and Mongolia, June-July 2010.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Party Whip, The Nationals from 14.8.06 to 19.7.10.

Other Positions

Member, IPU HIV/AIDS Task Force from 2008.


Born 3.2.1954, Guyra, NSW.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Small business owner and operator from 1978.

Board Member, Tourism New South Wales.

Chair, Council of Tourist Associations of New South Wales.

Chair, Tourism Wagga Wagga.

Local Government Service

Councillor, Wagga Wagga City Council 1991-98.

Deputy Mayor, Wagga Wagga City Council 1995-98.


Paul Harris Fellow, Rotary Foundation.

Rod Murdoch Award for outstanding contribution to the development of tourism in New South Wales.


Description: rural.

Location: central western New South Wales; it includes the rural cities of Griffith and Wagga Wagga and the towns of Coleambally, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Gundagai, Junee, Leeton, Narrandera, Stockinbingal, Tarcutta, Temora and West Wyalong.

Area: 42 201 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 91 324 (at 24.11.07).

Industries: wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops, fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer and goat farming, food processing, fruit, grapes, and wine making, flour milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, brick kiln, saw milling, joinery, plaster works, tourism, higher education (including Charles Sturt University), CSIRO research and technology, and defence forces.

State electorates: Riverina includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Burrinjuck, Murray-Darling, Murrumbidgee and Wagga Wagga.