Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
McCORMACK, the Hon. Michael FrancisBiography for McCORMACK, the Hon. Michael Francis

Member for Riverina (NSW)


Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Riverina, New South Wales, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance from 18.9.13 to 21.9.15.

Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister from 21.9.15 to 18.2.16.

Assistant Minister for Defence from 18.2.16 to 19.7.16.

Minister for Small Business from 19.7.16.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: House from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Regional Australia from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13.

Party Positions

Director, Nationals federal election campaigns for Riverina, 2004 and 2007.

Vice-Chairman, Nationals Riverina Electorate Council 2010.

Member, Nationals State Central Council (NSW) 2010.

Other Positions

Justice of the Peace.


Born 2.8.1964, Wagga Wagga, NSW.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Journalist and reporter, The Daily Advertiser, Wagga Wagga 1981-88; Sub-editor 1988-91; Acting Editor 1991-92; Editor 1992-2002.

Group Editor, Riverina Media Group 1996-2002.

Publisher, MSS Media Services and Solutions 2002-10.


Wild colonial boys: bushrangers in the Riverina, 1996.

Might and bite: history of the Turvey Park Australian Football Club 1952-2002.

New South Wales: linking Australia to the world, 2003.

40 not out: history of the Marian/St Michael's Cricket Club 1963-2004.

The mighty Dons: history of the Marian Dons/South Wagga-Tolland Football Club, 2004.

From rags to riches: centenary of the Wagga Wagga Conference of the Society of St Vincent de Paul, 2004.

Mud, sweat and cheers: 50 years of the Wagga Kangaroos Rugby League Football Club, 2004.

And the big boys fly: history of the Carroll Cup 1969-2008.


Description: rural.

Location: southern New South Wales; towns include Ardlethan, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Cowra, Forbes, Grenfell, Gundagai, Harden, Junee, Parkes, Peak Hill, Tarcutta, Temora, Tullamore, Ungarie, Wagga Wagga, West Wyalong and Young.

Area: 48 988 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 111 026 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops; farming (fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer, and goats); food processing, fruit, grapes and wine making; flour-milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, saw milling, joinery, plaster works and tourism.