Save Search

Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
PRENTICE, the Hon. JaneBiography for PRENTICE, the Hon. Jane

Member for Ryan (Qld)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Ryan, Queensland, 2010 and 2013.

Parliamentary Appointments

Parliamentary Representative on the Advisory Council on Australian Archives from 24.2.11 to 9.5.16.

Member, Expert Panel on the Constitutional Recognition of Local Government from 8.8.11 to 1.12.11.

Parliamentary Positions

Member, Speaker's Panel from 12.2.15 to 9.5.16.

Ministerial Appointments

Assistant Minister for Disability Services from 18.2.16.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.10 to 13.10.15 (Chair from 9.12.13 to 13.10.15); Petitions from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.

Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.2.14 to 2.2.16.

Joint Standing: Treaties from 9.10.12 to 25.2.14; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 22.9.14 to 2.2.16; Electoral Matters from 13.10.15 to 23.2.16 (Chair from 13.10.15 to 23.2.16).

Party Positions

Vice-President, NSW Young Liberal Movement.

Chairman, Mosman Young Liberal Branch.

Member, Young Liberal State Executive (NSW) 1973-77.

Member, Liberal Party State Executive (NSW) 1976-77.

Hon. Secretary, Warringah Federal Electorate Council.

Member, Young Liberal State Executive (Qld) 1979-80.

Chairman, Toowong Young Liberal Branch.

Chairman, Taringa Liberal Party Branch.

Member, Liberal Party State Women's Council Executive (Qld).

Member, Liberal National Party Policy Standing Committee 2009-10.

Secretary, Coalition Policy Committee on Communications.

Member, Coalition Policy Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs.


Born 22.6.1953, Melbourne, Vic.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

Member, Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Member, Australian Institute of Management.

Personal Assistant to State Director, Country Party (NSW).

Staff member to the Minister for Education, Senator the Hon. Sir JL Carrick.

Office manager, QCOM Pty Ltd.

Director, Brisbane Visitors and Convention Bureau.

Business Manager, Australian Telecommunications User Group (ATUG) Queensland.

Managing Director, Conventions Queensland.

Member, Brisbane City Council 2000-10: Leader of the Opposition, Brisbane City Council 2007-08; Chairman, Public and Active Transport and Economic Development Committee 2010.

Local Government Service

Member, Brisbane City Council 2000-10.

Leader of the Opposition, Brisbane City Council 2007-08.

Chairman, Public and Active Transport and Economic Development Committee, Brisbane City Council 2010.


Description: outer metropolitan.

Location: south-western Brisbane; it includes the suburbs of Anstead, Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, Chuwar, Dorrington, Enoggera, Enoggera Reservoir, Ferny Grove, Fig Tree Pocket, Gaythorne, Grovely, Indooroopilly, Ironside, Karana Downs, Kenmore, Kenmore Hills, Keperra, Kholo, Mitchelton, Moggill, Mt Coot-tha, Mt Crosby, Oxford Park, Peewee Bend, Pinjarra Hills, Priors Pocket, Pullenvale, Rainworth, Rosalie, St Johns Wood, St Lucia, Taringa, The Gap, Toowong, Torwood, Upper Brookfield, Upper Kedron and parts of Ashgrove, Auchenflower, Bardon, Paddington and Lake Manchester.

Area: 441 sq km (approx.).

Electors enrolled: 100 652 (at 7.9.13).

Industries: retail and service industries, light industry and farming. It also includes the University of Queensland and a large portion of Brisbane Forest Park.

State electorates: Ryan includes parts of the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorates of Ashgrove, Everton, Ferny Grove, Indooroopilly, Ipswich West, Moggill and Mount Coot-tha.