Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
LEESER, Julian MartinBiography for LEESER, Julian Martin

Member for Berowra (NSW)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Berowra, New South Wales, 2016.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing:Employment, Education and Training from 14.9.16 to 28.2.17; Tax and Revenue from 14.9.16.

Joint Standing: Human Rights from 14.9.16; National Capital and External Territories from 14.9.16.

Joint Statutory: Intelligence and Security from 13.2.17.

Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples from 27.3.18 (Co-chair from 27.3.18).

Party Positions

Member, Liberal Party, 1992-.

Vice President Berowra FEC, 2009-2016.

Secretary, Fox Valley Branch, 2010-2016.

President Hornsby SEC, 2014-2016.

Vice President, Liberal Party (NSW), 2015-2016.


Born 25.5.1976, Sydney, New South Wales.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

BA (Hons.), LLB (UNSW).


Associate, Hon IDF Callinan AC QC, High Court of Australia, 2000.

Company Director.

Advisor, Minister for Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business Hon. AJ Abbott MP, 2001.

Solicitor, Mallesons Stephen Jacques, 2002-2004.

Special Advisor, Attorney General Hon PM Ruddock, 2004-2006.

Visiting Fellow, Alfred A Taubman Centre for State and Local Government, John F Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, 2006-2007.

Executive Director, Menzies Research Centre, 2006-2012.

Senior Executive, Australian Catholic University, 2012-2016.

Local Government Service

Member, Woollahra Municipal Council, 1995-1999.

Elected Delegate, Constitutional Convention, 1998.

Member, Official Government No Case Committee, 1999.


State Policy Perspectives, (editor), Canberra: Menzies Research Centre, 2006.

Don't Leave Us With the Bill, (co-editor with R Haddrick), Canberra: Menzies Research Centre, 2009.

State of the Nation: aspects of Australian public policy, (co-editor with D Markwell and R Thompson), Victoria: Connor Court, 2013.

The Australian Declaration of Recognition, (with Damien Freeman), 2015.


Description: outer metropolitan.

Location: north-western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Annangrove, Arcadia, Berowra, Brooklyn, Cattai, Cherrybrook, Cowan, Dangar Island, Galston, Glenorie, Hornsby (part), Maroota, Middle Dural, Mount Colah (part), Mount Kuring-gai, Pennant Hills, Westleigh, West Pennant Hills and Wisemans Ferry.

Area: 786 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 105 245 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: fishing and oyster farming, retail, service and various small industries including hobby farming, citrus fruit orchards, poultry farming, horticulture and tourism.