Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
DUTTON, the Hon. Peter CraigBiography for DUTTON, the Hon. Peter Craig

Member for Dickson (Qld)

Liberal Party of Australia

Parliamentary Service

Elected to the House of Representatives for Dickson, Queensland, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Workforce Participation from 26.10.04 to 27.1.06.

Minister for Revenue and Assistant Treasurer from 27.1.06 to 3.12.07.

Minister for Health from 18.9.13 to 23.12.14.

Minister for Sport from 18.9.13 to 23.12.14.

Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 23.12.14.

Minister for Home Affairs from 20.12.17.

Committee Service

House of Representatives Standing: Employment and Workplace Relations from 20.3.02 to 31.8.04; Family and Community Services from 20.3.02 to 31.8.04; Economics from 11.3.08 to 25.9.08.

Joint Statutory: National Crime Authority from 20.3.02 to 1.1.03; Australian Crime Commission from 1.1.03 to 31.8.04.

Parliamentary Party Positions

Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.07 to 18.9.13. Shadow Minister for Finance, Competition Policy and Deregulation from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Minister for Health and Ageing from 22.9.08 to 18.9.13.

Party Positions

Policy Vice-Chair, Bayside Young Liberals 1989.

Chair, Bayside Young Liberals 1990.

Secretary, Liberal Party Brisbane Central Branch 2000.

Member, Government Backbench Committees on Attorney-General, Justice and Customs; Health and Ageing; Immigration, Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs.


Born 18.11.1970, Brisbane, Qld.


Qualifications and Occupation before entering Federal Parliament

B.Bus. (QUT).

Police officer, 1990-99.

Company director, 1993-01.


Description: outer metropolitan.

Location: north-western outskirts of Brisbane; it includes the suburbs and towns of Albany Creek, Arana Hills, Bray Park, Brendale, Cashmere, Dayboro, Eatons Hill, Everton Hills, Ferny Hills, Joyner, Kallangur, Lawnton, Mount Glorious, Mount Nebo, Petrie, Samford Valley, Strathpine and Warner.

Area: 772 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 100 674 (at 2.7.16).

Industries: farming, retail and industrial activities.

State electorates: Dickson includes parts of the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorates of Everton, Ferny Grove, Kallangur and Pine Rivers.