Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

     9   Health Insurance Amendment (Safety Net) Bill 2015

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time— And on the amendment moved thereto by Ms King, viz.— That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“the House declines to give the bill a second reading because the bill will have significant and adverse consequences for hundreds of thousands of patients, especially those who need frequent sessions with psychiatrists, those accessing Assisted Reproductive Technology services, those receiving radiation oncology and notes that this is yet another component of the Government’s ongoing attack on Medicare as part of a plan to privatise Australia’s healthcare system.”—

Debate resumed.


Ms Ley (Minister for Health) presented a replacement explanatory memorandum to the bill.

Amendment negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put.

The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Kelly, in the Chair)—


AYES, 78

Mr Alexander

Ms Gambaro

Mr Macfarlane

Ms F. M. Scott

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Mrs McNamara

Mr Simpkins

Mr Baldwin

Mr Goodenough

Ms Marino

Dr Southcott

Mr Billson

Mr Hastie

Mrs Markus

Dr Stone

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr Hawke

Mr Matheson

Mrs Sudmalis

Ms J. I. Bishop

Ms Henderson

Mr Morrison

Mr Sukkar

Mr Briggs

Dr Hendy

Mr Nikolic

Mr Taylor

Mr Broad

Mr Hogan

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Howarth

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Truss

Mr Brough

Mr Hutchinson

Mr Pasin

Mr Tudge

Mr Buchholz

Mr Irons

Mr Porter

Mr van Manen

Mr D. J. Chester

Dr Jensen

Mrs Prentice

Mr Varvaris

Mr Christensen

Mr E. T. Jones

Ms Price

Mr Vasta

Mr Cobb

Mr Joyce

Mr Ramsey

Mr Whiteley*

Mr Coleman

Mr Keenan

Mr Robb

Mrs Wicks

Mr Coulton*

Mr Laming

Mr Robert

Mr Williams

Mr Dutton

Ms M. L. Landry

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wilson

Mr Entsch

Mr C. A. Laundy

Mr Ruddock

Mr Wood

Mr Fletcher

Ms Ley

Mr B. C. Scott

Mr Wyatt

Mr Frydenberg

Mr McCormack


NOES, 56

Mr Albanese

Ms Claydon

Mr Hayes

Ms Parke

Mr Bandt

Ms Collins

Mr Husic

Mr Perrett

Ms Bird

Mr Conroy

Mr S. P. Jones

Ms Plibersek

Mr Bowen

Mr Danby

Mr Katter

Mr Ripoll

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Dreyfus

Ms King

Ms Rishworth

Ms A. E. Burke

Mrs Elliot

Ms McGowan

Ms Rowland

Mr A. S. Burke

Ms Ellis

Ms Macklin

Ms Ryan*

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Feeney

Ms MacTiernan

Mr Snowdon

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Ferguson

Mr Marles

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Byrne

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Mitchell

Mr Thomson

Dr Chalmers

Mr Giles

Mr Neumann

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Champion

Mr Gray

Mr O’Connor

Mr Watts

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Griffin

Ms O’Neil

Mr Wilkie

Mr Clare

Ms Hall*

Ms Owens

Mr Zappia

* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative—bill read a second time.

Leave granted for third reading to be moved immediately.

On the motion of Ms Ley, the bill was read a third time.