Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

   15 Labor 2013-14 Budget Savings (Measures No. 2) Bill 2015

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed.


The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Broadbent, in the Chair)—

AYES, 77

Mr Abbott

Mrs Griggs

Mr Macfarlane

Mr B. C. Scott

Mr Alexander

Mr Hartsuyker

Ms McGowan

Ms F. M. Scott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Hastie

Mrs McNamara

Mr Simpkins

Mr Baldwin

Mr Hawke

Ms Marino

Dr Southcott

Mr Billson

Ms Henderson

Mrs Markus

Dr Stone

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Dr Hendy

Mr Matheson

Mrs Sudmalis

Mr Broad

Mr Hogan

Mr Morrison

Mr Sukkar

Mr Brough

Mr Hutchinson

Mr Nikolic

Mr Taylor

Mr Buchholz

Mr Irons

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr D. J. Chester

Dr Jensen

Mr Pasin

Mr Tudge

Mr Christensen

Mr E. T. Jones

Mr Pitt

Mr van Manen

Mr Ciobo

Mr Joyce

Mr Porter

Mr Varvaris

Mr Cobb

Mr Keenan

Mrs Prentice

Mr Vasta

Mr Coleman

Mr Kelly

Ms Price

Mr Whiteley*

Mr Coulton*

Mr Laming

Mr Pyne

Mrs Wicks

Mr Fletcher

Ms M. L. Landry

Mr Robb

Mr Williams

Mr Frydenberg

Mr C. A. Laundy

Mr Robert

Mr Wilson

Ms Gambaro

Ms Ley

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wood

Dr Gillespie

Mr McCormack

Mr Ruddock

Mr Wyatt

Mr Goodenough




NOES, 51

Mr Albanese

Ms Collins

Mr Husic

Ms Plibersek

Mr Bandt

Mr Conroy

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Ripoll

Ms Bird

Mr Danby

Mr Katter

Ms Rishworth

Mr Bowen

Mr Dreyfus

Ms King

Ms Rowland

Ms Brodtmann

Mrs Elliot

Dr Leigh

Ms Ryan*

Ms A. E. Burke

Ms Ellis ( proxy )

Ms Macklin

Mr Snowdon

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Feeney

Ms MacTiernan

Mr Thistlethwaite

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Ferguson

Mr Marles

Mr Thomson

Mr Byrne

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Mitchell

Ms Vamvakinou

Dr Chalmers

Mr Giles

Mr Neumann

Mr Watts

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Griffin

Mr O’Connor

Mr Wilkie

Mr Clare

Ms Hall*

Ms O’Neil

Mr Zappia

Ms Claydon

Mr Hayes

Ms Parke


* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative—bill read a second time.

Message from the Governor-General

Message No. 262, 1 December 2015, from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced recommending an appropriation for the purposes of the bill.

Consideration in detail

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole.


Mr Hawke (Assistant Minister to the Treasurer) presented a supplementary explanatory memorandum to the bill.

On the motion of Mr Hawke, by leave, Government amendments (1) to (23) were made together.

Question—That the bill, as amended, be agreed to—put.

The House divided and only Mr Bandt, Mr Katter and Mr Wilkie voting “No”, the Deputy Speaker (Mr Broadbent) declared the question resolved in the affirmative.

Bill, as amended, agreed to.

Consideration in detail concluded.

On the motion of Mr Hawke, by leave, the bill was read a third time.