Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

Categories of Committees


Standing Committees

▪     Legislative and General Purpose (including Legislation and References Committees)

Community Affairs


Education and Employment ( formerly Education, Employment and Workplace Relations; name amended 13 November 2013 )

Environment and Communications

Finance and Public Administration

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport

▪     Legislative Scrutiny

Regulations and Ordinances

Scrutiny of Bills

▪     Standing (Domestic)

Appropriations and Staffing






Selection of Bills

Senators’ Interests

Select Committees

Abbott Government’s Commission of Audit

National Broadband Network

School Funding

Joint Committees

▪     Select

Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples

Northern Australia

▪     Standing

Electoral Matters

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade


National Capital and External Territories

National Disability Insurance Scheme

Parliamentary Library


▪     Statutory

Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity

Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings

Corporations and Financial Services

Human Rights

Intelligence and Security

Law Enforcement

Public Accounts and Audit

Public Works


Details appear in the following section, with committees listed in alphabetical order.