Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Senator Bernardi, also on behalf of Senator Cash, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister (Senator Lundy), the Minister for Sport (Senator Arbib) and Senator McEwen, pursuant to notice of motion not objected to as a formal motion, moved general business notice of motion no. 577—That the Senate—

 (a) recognises that sport is integral to life for so many Australians;

 (b) acknowledges that the Australian netball team, the Australian Diamonds, led by captain Ms Natalie von Bertouch and coach Ms Norma Plummer, in 2011 won the World Netball Championships in Singapore; and

 (c) congratulates:

  (i) Australian Diamonds defender Ms Laura Geitz who won the Liz Ellis Diamond and ANZ Championship Player of the Year honours at the 2011 Australian Netball Awards on Saturday, 19 November 2011,

  (ii) Ms Kimberlee Green who was named Holden Australian International Player of the Year recognising her outstanding performance during the Holden Netball Test Series and World Championships,

  (iii) Australian Diamonds shooter Ms Catherine Cox who was named New Idea's Favourite Diamond by the publication's readers,

  (iv) Ms Liz Ellis, Australia's most capped player, and South Australia's Ms Julie Francou who were inducted into the Australian Netball Hall of Fame for recognition of their outstanding contributions to the game, and

  (v) all in the netball community, the players, coaches and umpires whose dedication and passion allowed them to reach the pinnacle of netball, being the World Champions.

Question put and passed.