Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The Manager of Government Business (Senator Grimes) moved-That, unless otherwise ordered, the Order of Business for Thursday, 19 September 1985, be as follows:

(1) Petitions

(2) Notices of Motion

(3) Formal Motions-Discovery of Formal Business

(4) Questions

(5) Ministerial Statements, by leave

(6) Presentation of Papers

(7) Adjournment

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 36

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Childs Coates Colston Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Jones McClelland McIntosh Macklin Maguire Mason Morris Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sanders Sibraa Siddons Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

NOES, 30

Senators- Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Collard Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Kilgariff Knowles Lewis MacGibbon Missen Parer Puplick Rae, Peter Sheil (Teller) Short Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers And so it was resolved in the affirmative.