Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Minister for Industry, Technology and Commerce (Senator Button)-That this Bill be now read a second time.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided

AYES, 37

Senators- Aulich Black Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans, Gareth Evans, Jack Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Haines Hearn McClelland McIntosh McKiernan Macklin Maguire Mason Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sibraa Vigor Walsh Zakharov

NOES, 30

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Chaney Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Hamer Hill Jessop Kilgariff Knowles Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Messner Missen Parer Rae, Peter Reid (Teller) Scott Sheil Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Bill read a second time.

The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for the consideration of the Bill.

In the Committee

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, debated and agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The President resumed the Chair; and the Chairman of Committees (Senator Hamer) reported accordingly.

On the motion of the Minister for Education (Senator Ryan) the Report from the Committee was adopted, and the Bill read a third time.