Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The following petitions, lodged with the Clerk by the Senators indicated, were received: Senators Button, Coleman, Peter Rae, Robertson, Ryan and Zakharov, from 2, 10, 55, 189, 68 and 31 petitioners, respectively, praying that the Senate and the Government rejects recommendations concerning the funding of private schools, declare a 3-year moratorium on increases in such funding and re-affirm support for government schools.

Senators Collard and Messner, from 250 and 506 petitioners, respectively, praying that the Australian flag be not changed except with the consent of the people in a referendum.

Senator Robertson, from 266 petitioners praying that the Senate pass a motion in support of the existing Australian flag.

Senators MacGibbon and Ryan, from 118 and 1012 petitioners, respectively, praying that a conscience vote be permitted to all members of Parliament on issues relating to the prevention of the importation and sale of hard-core pornography.

Senators Robertson and Ryan, from 105 and 238 petitioners, respectively, praying that the Senate take action to restrict the viewing of certain films, video tapes and printed material.

Senators Chaney, Robertson, Scott, Walters and Watson, from 18, 29, 79, 1424 and 151 petitioners, respectively, praying that the Senate disallow certain regulations and ordinances dealing with publications and video materials, that action be taken to enforce existing laws, that further measures be taken in association with the States and that the censors more appropriately reflect reasonable and responsible community attitudes.

Senator Zakharov, from 58 petitioners praying that the Senate legislate to close the Joint Australian-United States electronic communications facilities at the Watsonia Army Barracks, Victoria.

Senator Zakharov, from 66 petitioners praying that the Senate take certain action to improve funding and services to the post-school education sector.

Senators Coleman and Colston, from 132 and 137 petitioners, respectively, praying that no further action be taken towards self-government in the Australian Capital Territory until after the publication of the findings of the Commonwealth Grants Commission Inquiry and the holding of a referendum of voters of the Australian Capital Territory.

Senator Walters, from 830 petitioners praying that the existing Australian National Flag be not changed.