Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of the Attorney-General (Senator Gareth Evans)-That this Bill be now read a second time.

Debate resumed.

The Leader of the National Party of Australia in the Senate (Senator Scott) moved-That the debate be now adjourned.


The Senate divided

AYES, 33

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Carrick, Sir John Chaney Chipp Crichton-Browne Durack Evans, Jack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Macklin Martin Mason Messner Missen Rae, Peter Reid (Teller) Scott Teague Townley Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 29

Senators- Bolkus Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Crowley Elstob Evans, Gareth Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Hearn Jones McClelland McIntosh Maguire Primmer Ray, Robert Reynolds Richardson Robertson (Teller) Ryan Sibraa Tate Walsh Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Senator Scott moved-That the resumption of the debate be an Order of the Day for the first sitting day after 1 May 1984.

Debate ensued.

Ordered-That the debate be adjourned till a later hour of the day, and that Senator MacGibbon have leave to continue his speech on the resumption of the debate.