Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion of Senator Durack- (1) That the National Crime Authority Bill 1983 and the National Crime Authority (Consequential Amendments) Bill 1983 be referred to the Standing Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs for inquiry and report, on or before 30 April 1984, as to whether the Bills fulfil effectively the objective of investigating organized crime and official corruption.

(2) That the Committee confine its inquiry and report to the terms of the Bills and associated policy matters, and not receive any evidence, or conduct any investigation, relating to any individual person or body.

(3) That, for the purpose of the inquiry, the membership of the Committee be increased to 8 Senators.

(4) That 1 of the 2 additional members be nominated by the Leader of the Government and the other nominated by the Leader of the Australian Democrats.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided

AYES, 27

Senators- Archer Baume Boswell Carrick, Sir John Chaney Chipp Collard Crichton-Browne Durack Evans, Jack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Hill Jessop Kilgariff (Teller) Lajovic Macklin Martin Mason Missen Rae, Peter Reid Scott Teague Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 24

Senators- Button Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Crowley Elstob Evans, Gareth Foreman Gietzelt Giles Grimes Harradine Hearn Jones (Teller) McClelland Primmer Reynolds Robertson Sibraa Tate Walsh Zakharov

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.