Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Chaney), by leave, moved- That, unless otherwise ordered, General Business take precedence of Government Business at 4.30 p.m. this day, and that General Business, Orders of the Day take precedence of General Business, Notices of Motion.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 29

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Carrick, Sir John Chaney Chipp Collard (Teller) Crichton-Browne Durack Evans, Jack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Haines Hamer Harradine Hill Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Macklin Mason Missen Rae, Peter Reid Scott Teague Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 25

Senators- Button Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Crowley Elstob Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Hearn Jones McClelland Maguire Primmer Ray, Robert Richardson Robertson (Teller ) Ryan




And so it was resolved in the affirmative.