Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion by Senator Martyr- That the Senate take note of the Report-And on the amendment moved thereto by the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator Button)-At end of motion, add '', but the Senate expresses its concern with the method of implementation of Government policies and, in particular-

(a) the failure of the Government to respond to and act on various reports of the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence relating to defence procurement, Australian defence priorities and Australian defence industries;

(b) the failure of the Government to provide modern guns and missiles for the ships of the Royal Australian Navy;

(c) the Government's action in allowing the Government Ordnance Factories to run down through lack of work, while ordering weapons from overseas which could have been manufactured in those factories;

(d) the Government's failure to secure adequate guarantees on cost, delivery, offsets, Australian industry participation and technology transfers for defence material bought overseas, particularly in the case of the Leopard tank and M198 155 mm Howitzer programs;

(e) a lack of planning in the aerospace, munitions and ship building industries;

(f) the failure of the Government to give adequate weight to questions of social policy, including employment, and the consequences in social terms for the economy of the City of Bendigo if the Ordnance Factory is sold, or closed; and

(g) the failure to relate Government policies in relation to the Ordnance Factories with other policies relating to industry support,

and calls on the Government to respond and expand the Ordnance Factory at Bendigo under its present management''.

Debate resumed.

Question-That the words proposed to be added be added-put.

The Senate divided-

Ayes, 28

Senators- Button Childs Coates Coleman Colston Elstob Evans Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Harradine Hearn Jones Keeffe McClelland McIntosh McLaren Macklin Mason Mulvihill Primmer Ray Robertson Siddons Tate Walsh Teller: Sibraa

Noes, 26

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Bonner Carrick , Sir John Chaney Crichton-Browne Durack Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Hill Lajovic MacGibbon Martin Martyr Messner Missen Scott Teague Thomas Townley Walters Watson Withers Young Teller: Kilgariff

Amendment agreed to accordingly.

Main Question, as amended-put and passed.