Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 23 August 1994
Page: 24

Senator TAMBLING —I give notice that, on the next day of sitting, I shall move:

  That the Senate—

  (a)congratulates the people of the Northern Territory on their new Parliament House in Darwin, which was officially opened by the Governor-General on 18 August 1994;

  (b)notes that the historic opening was attended by 600 Territory residents, school children, Members of the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly, Northern Territory federal parliamentary representatives and dignitaries including former Governor-General, Sir Zelman Cowen, former Prime Ministers, Sir John Gorton and the Honourable Gough Whitlam, the Deputy Prime Minister (Mr Howe), the Treasurer (Mr Willis), the Minister for Human Services and Health (Dr Lawrence), the Leader of the National Party (Mr Fischer), former party leader, the Right Honourable Ian Sinclair, State Premiers, the Australian Capital Territory Chief Minister (Ms Follett) and members of the diplomatic corps;

  (c)recognises the significance of this building, which hosted a Council of Australian Governments meeting on 19 August 1994, and which, in future, will accommodate 200 to 300 people, house a parliamentary chamber, offices for Ministers and Members, and the State reference library and provide facilities for a State crisis centre to co-ordinate relief operations; and

  (d)commends local industry and tradesmen on the high quality design and workmanship involved in the construction of the Northern Territory's premier building.