Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 10 December 1986
Page: 3774

(Question No. 1488)

Senator Vallentine asked the Minister representing the Minister for Foreign Affairs, upon notice, on 13 November 1986:

(1) Which companies have obtained a grant from the Development Import Finance Facility (DIFF), administered by the Australian Development Assistance Bureau, in each of the financial years 1982-83, 1983-84, 1984-85 and 1985-86.

(2) Which companies applied for but were not able to obtain a grant from the DIFF scheme in each of the financial years 1982-83, 1983-84, 1984-85 and 1985-86.

Senator Gareth Evans —The Minister for Foreign Affairs has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

(1) The following companies received DIFF grant funds in the financial years, and for proposed contracts in the countries, set out below:


Snowy Mountains Electricity Corporation (SMEC) (Malaysia)


Australian Overseas Project Corporation/Vocational and Technical Training Corporation of Australia (AOPC/VTTC) (Indonesia)

SMEC (Malaysia) (same project as in 1982-83)


AOPC/VTTC (Indonesia) (same project as in 1983-84)

Broken Hill Engineering Pty Ltd (China)

Pandrol Australia Pty Ltd (Indonesia)

Vickers Keogh Pty Ltd (India)


Australian Shipping Industries (W.A.) Pty Ltd (Solomon Islands)

Broken Hill Engineering Pty Ltd (China) (same project as in 1984-85)

Connor Shea and Co. Pty Ltd (Ethiopia)

Transfield Pty Ltd (Indonesia).

(2) In order to obtain grant funds under the DIFF scheme, an applicant company must first satisfy the Government's DIFF eligibility guidelines and then win an export contract from the developing country. The majority of applicants since the scheme's commencement during 1981-82 have satisfied the eligibility guidelines.

Since 1984-85, when records commenced on the reasons why applicants have been found ineligible to receive DIFF offers, ADAB has rejected 19 out of some 70 applications. Most unsuccessful applicants failed either because their proposals were not of sufficient priority in the recipient country's national development plan, or because they were unable to show that foreign competitors were offering aid support to the recipient country (DIFF funds are offered only to match such competition). Some other applications could not be accepted due to insufficient DIFF funds, or because the proposed recipient country was not included in Australia's official development assistance program (another of the DIFF eligibility guidelines).

On this basis, the following applications to ADAB for DIFF grant funds were rejected in 1984-85 and 1985-86:


AOPC (Indonesia)

Balfour Beatty Power Construction Australia Pty Ltd (Indonesia)

Bundy Tubing (China)

Fox Manufacturing Co. Pty Ltd (Thailand)

Hawker Pacific Pty Ltd (Burma)

John Holland Constructions Pty Ltd (China)

Kailis Gulf Fisheries (Burma)

NEC Australia Pty Ltd (Papua New Guinea)

Omark (Bangladesh)

Readings of Lismore Pty Ltd (India)

Sabemo Pty Ltd/Airport Consulting and Construction

Australia Pty Ltd (Indonesia)

Sagric International Pty Ltd (Pakistan)

Shedden Pacific Pty Ltd (Malaysia)

SCEL Pty Ltd (Malaysia)

Vickers Xatal Pty Ltd (India)

Western Australian Overseas Projects Association (Thailand)

Winslade and Co. Pty Ltd (Thailand)


LSE Technology Pty Ltd (Papua New Guinea)