Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 26 November 1986
Page: 2797

Senator GARETH EVANS (Minister for Resources and Energy)(4.54) —Yes, Mr Chairman. There are no inactive commissioners on the Human Rights Commission. The commissioners are as follows: The Chairman, Dame Roma Mitchell, was appointed on 10 December 1981. Her term was extended to 9 December this year. The Deputy Chairman, Mr Peter Bailey, was appointed on the same date and his term was extended to the same date. Professor Manuel Aroney is a member and the same dates apply. Professor Peter Boyce was appointed at the same time but he resigned on 4 April 1986. Mr Marcus Einfeld was appointed on 13 April 1986 to replace Professor Boyce. His term expires on 9 December this year. Mrs Norma Ford has been a member of the Commission since 1981 and her term is still current. The same is the case with Mrs Eva Geia and Ms Elizabeth Hastings.

I answered a question by Senator Walters on this question of activity or inactivity on 12 June this year. There has been no change in the status of any of the commissioners since then. Since that question was answered there have been three meetings of the Commission. All commissioners have attended these meetings with the following exceptions only: At the Brisbane meeting on 14 and 15 July there were apologies from Professor Aroney and Ms Hastings. In Canberra on 28 and 29 August there was an apology from Mrs Geia. Again in Canberra on 23 and 24 October there were apologies from Mrs Geia and from Professor Aroney, who was ill in hospital. I think that is a full description of both the membership and the role that the commissioners have played.

Question resolved in the affirmative.


The Bill.