Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Friday, 19 October 1984
Page: 2084

Senator MISSEN —by leave-The Joint Committee appointed under the National Crime Authority Act 1984 to monitor and review the operations of the National Crime Authority had its first meeting last evening. The members of the Committee are Mr Baldwin, Mr Brumby, Mr Griffiths, Mr Hall and Mr McGauran from the House of Representatives and Senators Crowley, Georges, Hill, Haines and Missen representing the Senate. The Committee elected Mr Alan Griffiths, the honourable member for Maribyrnong, as Chairman and Senator Alan Missen as Deputy Chairman. Mr Christopher Fogarty, the secretary of the Senate Standing Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs is Acting Secretary of the new Joint Committee.

Due to the late establishment of the Committee, its operations in this Parliament will be limited. Under section 53 of the Act, the members cease to hold office on the Committee on 26 October 1984 when the House of Representatives is dissolved. Meanwhile the Joint Committee has set in hand arrangements for the appointment of permanent staff of the Committee and arrangements for meetings with members of the Authority and briefings upon the commencement of sittings of the new Parliament. In the interregnum, informal discussions will take place to establish a framework for the Committee's monitoring functions in the new Parliament.